2022 BADI Honorees

The Graduate School’s Office of Access, Diversity, and Inclusion held its first annual Best of Access, Diversity, and Inclusion (BADI) Awards on May 12, 2022 as part of the Inclusive Academy Symposium. The BADIs honor and celebrate underrepresented graduate students at Princeton University as well as those who are dedicated to uplifting and advancing them as researchers, scholars, mentors, and future leaders of academia, government, industry, and beyond. We are proud to shine a much-deserved light on the efforts of these exemplary graduate students, postdocs, staff, and faculty.    

Congratulations to the 2022 BADI honorees!

Visit Award Nominations to learn more about award criteria. 

Leadership Award

Christopher L. Eisgruber
Princeton University President

Graduate Students

The Pinnacle Award

Erin Flowers
Astrophysical Sciences PhD Student

Outstanding G1 Student Award

Kat Phan
School of Public and International Affairs MPA Student

Outstanding Advocacy Award

Edna Normand
Molecular Biology MD/PhD Student

Outstanding Divisional Leadership Award

Joscelyn Garcia
School of Public and International Affairs MPA Student
Social Sciences Division
Lindsay Griffiths
English PhD Student
Humanities Division
Anjali Premkumar
Electrical and Computer Engineering PhD Student
Engineering Division
Amari Tankard
Molecular Biology PhD Student
Natural Sciences Division

Outstanding Graduate Student Mentorship Award

Rodrigo E. L. Córdova Rosado
Astrophysical Sciences Department Ph.D. Student
Vanessa Gonzalez
Molecular Biology Department Ph.D. Candidate
Shelby Sinclair
History PhD Student


Champion Award

Osama Ahmed
Princeton Neuroscience Institute Postdoctoral Fellow
Lauren R. Kerby
Visiting Fellow at the Center for Culture, Society, and Religion and a lecturer in the Department of Religion


Champion Award

Jenny Greene
Professor of Astrophysical Sciences
Joshua Guild
Associate Professor of History and African American Studies
Judith Weisenfeld, *92
Agate Brown and George L. Collord Professor of Religion and Chair of the Department of Religion


Unsung Hero Award

Laura De Olden
Associate Director of Graduate Student Life and Diversity Initiatives in the School of Public and International Affairs
Theresa Thames
Associate Dean of Religious Life and of the Chapel

Outstanding Programming Award

Women in STEM Leadership Council

Roohi Dalal
Astrophysical Sciences PhD Student
Carli Kovel
Chemistry PhD Student
Vice President
Hichem Bouchamaoui
Physics PhD Student

SPIA Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Team

Krystal Cohen
School of Public and International Affairs MPA Student
Guillermo Herrera Nimmagadda
School of Public and International Affairs MPA Student
Ryan Sasse
School of Public and International Affairs MPA Student

Students of Color and Allies (SOCA)

Rikio Inouye
Politics PhD Student
Derek Wakefield
Politics PhD Student
Sonny Kim
Politics PhD Student